The challenge for today is to set three goals for the blog. Goals….sometimes I feel that they are the bane of my existence. I supervise about fifteen people at work, and twice yearly I must give evaluations, including goals. Typically, my staff are so good at what they do that I must rack my imagination to come up with goals that are not just busywork, but that will challenge them, help them grow,  and simply make the job more interesting.

So I am familiar with S.M.A.R.T. goals and have ready plenty about how to go about developing them and getting buy-in from people. Now I must turn it back on myself. But, truthfully, I am ready for this. I have set very few goals in my life…very few…maybe none…so it’s time.

As I sat down to write this my first thought was of popularity: how many people do I want to be reading my work? Wouldn’t it be great if a movie producer was fascinated with my blog and wanted to turn it into a movie? But of course, goals are supposed to be comprised of aspects you can control and influence. I cannot determine how many people read this or how long it takes to be recognized and immortalized on film, I can only do the best work I can, and let the universe take it from there.

So, while my vision that I hold dear to me involves somehow turning writing into a career (even at this stage of life), first I must have goals that I strive to achieve and be the best I can be in the process. With that in mind, here are my goals, along with a timeframe within which to make them reality.

  1. Have the Unremarkable Story tied to a YouTube channel. Within three months (by the beginning of August) I’d like to have a companion video series, details of which and how it ‘companions’ to the blog to be explained at a later date.
  2. Post every day. By early July I’d like to be getting this done. I have plenty of material; all I need is the discipline to sit still and write.
  3. I would like to be a part of a writing community, a blogging community, a WordPress community. This is not entirely within my control, but I believe that if I stick with these courses, if I offer honest, constructive feedback to others, if I participate in an open manner, then the community will reciprocate.

Thank you WP for making the space, for allowing us to be here!

 

